Let’s talk

Podcasts – my thoughts on ethics on air

Over the past few years, I have been invited to participate in a variety of podcasts. Hosts from all over the world have asked me to share my thoughts on ethics, artificial intelligence, data protection, sustainability or my personal career with their listeners. Podcasts are a great opportunity for me to present my views and convictions in a structured and clearly understandable way; and as I keep saying, to show that ethics can be fun! At the same time, every single one of these talks has always been an eye opener for myself .

Here is a selection that shows the diversity of voices who have invited me, and the broad range of topics we talk about:

The «Tech Humanist Show» by Kate O’Neill

Kate O’Neill helps people and businesses prepare for an increasingly technology-driven future with her signature strategic optimism. On her Tech Humanist Show, we discussed the connections between AI ethics and climate change, the legitimacy of carbon offsets, to the ethical aspects of contact tracing. Furthermore, I advocate using AI in contexts where it does not violate people’s moral rights. When you apply machine learning to humans, it is full of biases and violates privacy, etc. Many of these problems don’t arise if you use the same technology in a natural science context, where you monitor patterns of oceans and clouds, for example, or monitor species extinctions. Animals have no need for privacy and no right to it. There are enough use cases with which real-world problems can be solved.

→ The Tech Humanist Show is available here, or on Spotify · Apple Podcasts · Google Podcasts · Stitcher · YouTube

The Engati Cx Podcast

Engati is an international no-code chatbot platform from India. In their Engati CX Podcast, they interview voices from around the world. With Kimberly Misquitta, I talked about the role of AI in spreading fake news, the trust we place in machines, biases in algorithms, AI detecting emotions, and whether we should limit access to AI. Instead of restricting access to AI, I argue for certification standards or an audit system for AI. This avoids the thorny issue of who should have access to AI. Instead, one defines what the technology must meet in order to be released to the broader public.

→ The Engati Cx Podcast is available on Spotify · Apple Podcasts · Stitcher · YouTube

The Volume Podcast by Kunumi

Brazilian AI Lab Kunumi invited me to their Volume Podcast, dedicated to «Reshaping the Present for a Reshaped Future.» For once, this was not about factual topics, but about my personal career. Filipe Forattini wanted to know how I became who I am today. I tell how I went from being an elementary school feminist who protested against handicrafts classes for girls, to a teenager critical of capitalism, and then to a bored business student. And how, after a few years in the academic ivory tower, I managed to turn my «excessive sense of justice» into my profession.

→ The Volume Podcast is available on Spotify · Apple Podcasts · Google Podcasts

The Ethics for a Changing World Podcast

Ethics for a Changing World is a student-created podcast that brings discussions about the ethical, political, and legal implications of technological change into the public sphere. Using Facebook as an example, I talked with Paddy Stephens about the connection between business model and corporate culture, the different premises of AI and ethics in research (gaining knowledge) and in practice (making profit), and the difference between companies that ‘really’ have ethics in their DNA and those that drop the subject once it no longer pays.

→ The «Ethics for a Changing World» podcast can be found on Spotify · Apple Podcasts · Stitcher

«Are you a Robot?» – a podcast by EthicsGrade

«Are you a Robot?» is a podcast about technology and ethics run by EthicsGrade, an ESG ratings agency with a special focus on technology governance. Demetrios Brinkmann got on my case with challenging questions about almost everything I work on. Among other things, we discussed the ethical challenge of Clubhouse. For example, about whether the fact that Clubhouse is only available to iPhone users at the time is discriminatory. I think: requiring everyone to have access to Clubhouse implies that if you don’t have access, you’re missing out on a lot. It makes Clubhouse bigger than it is.

→ The «Are you a Robot?» Podcast is available here and on Spotify · Apple Podcasts · Castbox · AnchorFM · YouTube

«Between Two Bots» with Mark van Rijmenam and Dan Turchin

The «Between Two Bots» podcast is hosted by Mark van Rijmenam, also known as The Digital Speaker, and Dan Turchin, co-founder and CEO of PeopleReign. In this podcast, «data revolutionaries» in the field of AI ethics have their say. We talked about whether Big Tech has too much influence on bodies like the EU High Level Expert Group on AI. My opinion: if I had a choice between Big Tech sitting at the table or lobbying for their business interests behind closed doors, I’d rather have them at the table.

→ The «Between Two Bots» podcast is available here and on Spotify · Google Podcasts · YouTube · Vimeo

«Pondering AI» with Kimberly Nevala

Pondering AI looks at how artificial intelligence enhances and challenges our humanity. Kimberly Nevala invites «thought leaders, researchers, doers, and activists» who are ensuring that our AI-enabled future puts people and the environment first. Together, we talked about new stakeholders in the context of AI, misconceptions about the role of women ethicists, and how best to raise awareness of ethics among leaders, among other topics. Plus, I talk about the unfortunate coincidence of the Silicon Valley mentality that demands scalability and speed, and the opacity and uncontrollability of AI’s impact.

→ The «Pondering AI» podcast is available here or on Spotify · Apple Podcasts · Google Podcasts

You can see the playlist with all my podcasts, some of them in German, here below or on Spotify.

AI & Ethics

Topics Artificial Intelligence & Ethics Never before has technological progress been faster, and never before has awareness of the ethical implications been so great. Especially

Read More »
Israel Palacio on Unsplash

Ethics in the tech sector: what makes it so distinctive?

Kate O’Neill is a global thought leader, author, keynote speaker, strategic advisor, and «tech humanist». We talked about connecting the dots between AI ethics, privacy, climate change, CSR, ESG, contact tracing, carbon offsetting and much more, including quite some laughter.

Read More »

Lassen Sie uns reden

Podcasts – meine Gedanken zu Ethik auf Sendung

In den letzten Jahren wurde ich zu einer Vielzahl von Podcasts eingeladen. Hosts aus der ganzen Welt haben mich gebeten, meine Gedanken zu Ethik, zu Künstlicher Intelligenz, zu Datenschutz, zu Nachhaltigkeit oder zu meinem persönlichen Werdegang mit ihren Zuhörerinnen und Zuhörern zu teilen. Podcasts sind für mich eine grossartige Chance, meine Ansichten und Überzeugungen strukturiert und klar verständlich darzulegen; und wie ich immer wieder sage, um zu zeigen, dass Ethik Spass machen kann! Gleichzeitig war jedes einzelne dieser Gespräche immer auch ein Augenöffner für mich selber .

Hier ist eine Auswahl, welche die Vielfalt der Stimmen zeigt, die mich eingeladen haben, und die Breite der Themen, über die wir reden:

Die «Tech Humanist Show» von Kate O’Neill

Kate O’Neill hilft Menschen und Unternehmen mit ihrem unverkennbaren strategischen Optimismus, sich auf eine zunehmend technologiegetriebene Zukunft vorzubereiten. In ihrer Tech Humanist Show diskutierten wir über die Zusammenhänge zwischen KI-Ethik und Klimawandel, die Legimität von CO2-Kompensation, bis hin zu den ethischen Aspekten von Contact Tracing. Ausserdem plädiere ich dafür, KI in Kontexten einzusetzen, in denen sie keine moralischen Rechte von Menschen verletzt. Wenn man Machine Learning auf Menschen anwendet, ist es voller Biases und verletzt die Privatsphäre usw. Viele dieser Probleme treten nicht auf, wenn man die gleiche Technologie in einem naturwissenschaftlichen Kontext einsetzt, in dem man z.B. die Muster von Ozeanen und Wolken beobachtet oder das Aussterben von Arten überwacht. Tiere haben kein Bedürfnis nach Privatsphäre und kein Recht darauf. Es gibt genügend Use Cases, mit welchen reale Probleme gelöst werden können.

→ Die Tech Humanist Show gibt es hier, oder auf Spotify · Apple Podcasts · Google Podcasts · Stitcher · YouTube

Der Engati Cx Podcast

Engati ist eine internationale no-code Chatbot-Plattform aus Indien. In ihrem Engati CX Podcast interviewen sie Stimmen aus der ganzen Welt. Mit Kimberly Misquitta habe ich über die Rolle von KI bei der Verbreitung von Fake News geredet, über das Vertrauen, das wir Maschinen entgegenbringen, über Verzerrungen in Algorithmen, über KI zur Erkennung von Emotionen und darüber, ob wir den Zugang zu KI beschränken sollten. Anstatt den Zugang zu KI zu beschränken, plädiere ich für Zertifizierungsnormen oder ein Auditsystem für KI. So vermeidet man die heikle Frage, wer Zugang zu KI haben soll. Stattdessen definiert man, was die Technologie erfüllen muss, um für eine breitere Öffentlichkeit freigegeben zu werden.

→  Den Engati Cx Podcast gibt es auf Spotify · Apple Podcasts · Stitcher · YouTube

Der Volume Podcast von Kunumi

Das brasilianische KI-Labor Kunumi lud mich zu seinem Volume Podcast ein, der sich der «Neugestaltung der Gegenwart für eine neu gestaltete Zukunft» widmet. Hier ging es für einmal nicht um Sachthemen, sondern um meinen ganz persönlichen WerdegangFilipe Forattini wollte wissen, wie ich zu dem wurde, was ich heute bin. Ich erzähle wie ich von einer Grundschulfeministin, die gegen den Handarbeitsunterricht für Mädchen protestierte, zu einem kapitalismuskritischen Teenager und dann zu einer gelangweilten BWL-Studentin wurde. Und wie es mir nach ein paar Jahren im akademischen Elfenbeinturm gelang, meinen «übertriebenen Gerechtigkeitssinn»  zu meinem Beruf zu machen.

→ Den Volume Podcast gibt es auf Spotify · Apple Podcasts · Google Podcasts

Der Ethics for a Changing World Podcast

Ethics for a Changing World ist ein von Studierenden ins Leben gerufener Podcast, der Diskussionen über die ethischen, politischen und rechtlichen Auswirkungen des technologischen Wandels in die Öffentlichkeit bringt. Mit Paddy Stephens habe ich am Beispiel von Facebook über den Zusammenhang von Geschäftsmodell und Unternehmenskultur geredet, über die unterschiedlichen Prämissen von KI und Ethik in der Forschung (Erkenntnisgewinn) und in der Praxis (Gewinnerzielung), und über den Unterschied zwischen Unternehmen, die Ethik ‚wirklich‘ in ihrer DNA haben und solchen, die das Thema fallen lassen, sobald es sich nicht mehr auszahlt.

Der Ethics for a Changing World Podcast findet sich auf Spotify · Apple Podcasts · Stitcher

Are you a Robot? – ein Podcast von EthicsGrade

«Are you a Robot?» ist ein Podcast über Technik und Ethik, der von EthicsGrade, einer ESG-Rating-Agentur mit besonderem Schwerpunkt auf Technologie-Governance betrieben wird. Demetrios Brinkmann hat mir auf den Zahn gefühlt mit herausfordernden Fragen zu fast allem, woran ich arbeite. Unter anderem haben wir über die ethischen Herausforderung von Clubhouse diskutiert. Zum Beispiel darüber, ob die Tatsache, dass Clubhouse zu dem Zeitpunkt nur für iPhone-Nutzer verfügbar ist, diskriminierend ist. Ich finde: Die Forderung, dass alle Zugang zu Clubhouse haben müssen, impliziert, dass man viel verpasst, wenn man keinen Zugang hat. Damit macht man Clubhouse grösser als es ist.

→ Den «Are you a Robot?» Podcast gibt es hier und auf Spotify · Apple Podcasts · Castbox · AnchorFM · YouTube

Between Two Bots mit Mark van Rijmenam und Dan Turchin

Der „Between Two Bots“-Podcast wird gehostet von Mark van Rijmenam, auch bekannt als The Digital Speaker, und Dan Turchin, Mitbegründer und CEO von PeopleReign. In diesem Podcast kommen «Datenrevolutionäre» im Bereich der KI-Ethik zu Wort. Wir haben über die Frage geredet, ob Big Tech einen zu grossen Einfluss auf Gremien wie die EU High Level Expert Group on AI hat. Meine Meinung: Wenn ich die Wahl hätte, ob Big Tech am Tisch sitzen soll oder ob sie hinter verschlossenen Türen für ihre Geschäftsinteressen lobbyieren sollen, hätte ich sie lieber am Tisch.

→  Den «Between Two Bots» Podcast gibt es hier und auf Spotify · Google Podcasts · YouTube · Vimeo

Pondering AI mit Kimberly Nevala

Pondering AI befasst sich mit der Frage, wie künstliche Intelligenz unsere Menschlichkeit fördert und herausfordert. Kimberly Nevala lädt «Vordenker, Forscher, Macher und Aktivisten» ein, die sicherstellen, dass in unserer KI-gestützten Zukunft der Mensch und die Umwelt an erster Stelle stehen. Gemeinsam haben wir unter anderem über neue Stakeholder im Kontext von KI geredet, über Missverständnisse zur Rolle von Ethikerinnen, und darüber, wie man Führungkräfte am besten für Ethik sensibilisiert. Ausserdem rede ich über das unglückliche Zusammenfallen der Silicon Valley-Mentalität, die Skalierbarkeit und Geschwindigkeit fordert, und der Intransparenz und Unkontrollierbarkeit der Auswirkungen von KI.

→ Den Pondering AI Podcast gibt es hier oder auf Spotify · Apple Podcasts · Google Podcasts

Die Playlist mit allen meinen Podcasts, einige davon auf Deutsch, seht ihr hier unten oder auf Spotify.

KI und Ethik

Themen Künstliche Intelligenz und Ethik Noch nie schritt der technologische Fortschritt schneller voran, und noch nie war das Bewusstsein für die ethischen Implikationen so gross.

Read More »

Ethics in the tech sector: what makes it so distinctive?

Kate O’Neill is a global thought leader, author, keynote speaker, strategic advisor, and «tech humanist». We talked about connecting the dots between AI ethics, privacy, climate change, CSR, ESG, contact tracing, carbon offsetting and much more, including quite some laughter.

Read More »