Let’s talk

Aligning value with values

Ethics strategy consulting for decision makers in tech and finance.

At the intersection of technology, society and the environment, companies are often confronted with ethical questions.

The challenge is to find credible answers to these questions without losing sight of business reality.

That’s my job.

Services

Consulting,
Speaking, Teaching

I help decision-makers in tech and finance to align their business strategy with ethics. I offer orientation in the thicket of opportunities and risks and translate complex issues into a language geared to the target group. By doing so, I strengthen the credibility and the trust between organizations and their stakeholders.

I empower my clients to be perceived as credible and effective actors in ethical issues in their core business.

I empower my clients to be perceived as credible and effective actors in ethical issues in their core business.

My authentic and inspiring speeches create value for events with very different target groups.

My many years of experience as a lecturer at various levels of education qualifies me as a (guest) speaker at universities and other educational institutions.

Impact

Presence on
all channels

As a sought-after expert, I am regularly invited for interviews, web shows and podcasts. From Swiss television to ELLE Singapore, from the e-commerce conference of Swiss Post to the UNESCO Forum: I have a global and multimedia presence. In addition, I also write my own articles.

Below you see a selection of interviews, podcasts, web shows and my own articles on all my topics. Make your choice with the hashtags. You can find the complete overview here.

Podcasts – my thoughts on ethics on air

Hosts from all over the world invite me to share my thoughts on ethics, artificial intelligence, data protection, sustainability or my personal career. Podcasts are a great opportunity to present my views and convictions in a structured and understandable manner. Every single one of these conversations has been an eye-opener for myself as well.

Read More
Picture from Iceland, geo-thermal energy

Cryptocurrencies and ESG? Mission impossible

Cryptocurrencies are booming; many of them are based on extremely energy-intensive mining processes. At the same time, we are under pressure to drastically reduce global emissions consumption, keyword ESG. These two trends are not compatible.

Read More

On teaching AI & ethics

The Montreal AI Ethics Institute interviewed me, along with my ForHumanity colleagues Merve Hickok and Ryan Carrier, about our thoughts on teaching AI and ethics. I recommend keeping AI ethics as applied as possible and inspiring people to think about what that means for their own work experience.

Read More

approach

My clients choose me because I make ethics tangible and understandable. They appreciate my ability to get to the heart of complex issues and my commitment to meeting their specific needs in every case.

I do not offer standardized solutions. I work out what is right and creates value for you and your stakeholders.

independent

As a 1-person company, Baur Consulting has transparent structures and no vested interests.

competent

I combine analytical rigour, academically trained, and conceptual strength with strong communication skills. This enables me to present the results of my work in a comprehensible and convincing manner.

personal

I deal with your mandates single-handedly, with strong commitment and I engage in regular personal exchange.

Topics

Value strategy for players in the financial industry. Advising investors and other actors in the financial industry on sustainable investments.

Advising companies on integrating ethics in the design, promotion and deployment of new technologies.

Advising companies to make CSR and sustainability credible elements of their business model.

about me

Dr. Dorothea Baur

Dorothea Baur is a consultant, international expert, speaker and lecturer with many years of experience and excellent qualifications. She puts her finger on sore points, identifies blind spots and shows how ethics can be credibly and effectively integrated into business. She impresses with authenticity and the courage to engage in controversy. She gets to the heart of things. Dorothea Baur has a solid academic background with a PhD from the University of St. Gallen as well as research and teaching experience at leading European business schools.

Lassen sie uns reden

Einklang von Wert und Werten

Ethik-Strategieberatung für Entscheidungsträger in Tech und Finance.

An der Schnittstelle zu Technologie, Gesellschaft und Umwelt werden Unternehmen häufig mit ethischen Fragen konfrontiert.

Die Herausforderung besteht darin, glaubwürdige Antworten auf diese Fragen zu finden, ohne dabei die geschäftliche Realität aus den Augen zu verlieren.

Das ist meine Aufgabe.

Angebot

Consulting,
Speaking, Teaching

Ich helfe Entscheidungsträgerinnen und Entscheidungsträgern im Finanz- und Technologiebereich, ihre Geschäftsstrategie mit Ethik in Einklang zu bringen. Ich biete Orientierung im Dickicht von Chancen und Risiken und übersetze komplexe Sachverhalte in eine zielgruppengerechte Sprache. So stärke ich die Glaubwürdigkeit und das Vertrauen zwischen Organisationen und ihren Stakeholdern.

Ich befähige meine Kunden, als glaubwürdige und wirksame Akteure in ethischen Fragen in ihrem Kerngeschäft wahrgenommen zu werden.

Mit meinen authentischen und inspirierenden Reden schaffe ich Wert für Anlässe mit ganz unterschiedlichen Zielgruppen.

Meine langjährige Erfahrung als Dozentin auf verschiedenen Ausbildungsstufen qualifiziert mich als (Gast-)Referentin an Hochschulen und anderen Bildungsinstitutionen. 

Impact

Präsenz auf
allen Kanälen

Als gefragte Expertin werde ich regelmässig zu Interviews, Webshows und Podcasts eingeladen.  Vom Schweizer Fernsehen bis hin zur ELLE Singapur, von der e-commerce Konferenz der Schweizerischen Post bis hin zum UNESCO Forum: ich bin global und multimedial präsent. Daneben verfasse ich auch  eigene Artikel. So schaffe ich Impact.

Sie sehen unten eine Auswahl an Interviews, Podcasts, Webshows und eigenen Artikeln zu allen  meinen Themen. Treffen Sie Ihre Auswahl mit den Hashtags. Die vollständige Übersicht finden Sie hier.

“No one likes to talk about ethics. I show that talking about ethics can be fun”

Brazilian AI lab Kunumi invited me to their Volume Podacst, which is dedicated to “reframing the present for a reimagined future”. Filipe Forattini challenged  me to reflect on how I became who I am today. Here is a summary of what I said: I was a primary school feminist protesting against handicraft lessons for girls, became a rebellious anticapitalist teenager in high school, got very bored as a business administration student in the 1990ies, hid away in the academic ivory tower… But eventually I have become less black and white-thinking and managed to make my ‘exaggerated sense of justice’ my

Read More

Online Dating und Ethik: Was unterscheidet Tinder von Zalando?

Muss mir Tinder aus Gründen sozialer Gerechtigkeit & Inklusion eine möglichst diverse Auswahl an Männern zeigen, auch wenn klar ist, dass ich nur auf blonde Männer über 1.85m stehe? Was ist der Unterschied zwischen dem Angebot auf Tinder und Zalando? Soll nicht bei beiden Plattformen der Kundenwunsch im Vordergrund stehen?

Read More

Zum Unterrichten von KI & Ethik

Das Montreal AI Ethics Institute hat mich, zusammen mit meinen ForHumanity-Kollegen Merve Hickok und Ryan Carrier, zu unseren Gedanken über das Lehren von KI und Ethik interviewt. Ich empfehle, KI-Ethik so anwendungsorientiert wie möglich zu halten und die Menschen zu inspirieren, darüber nachzudenken, was das für ihre eigene Arbeitserfahrung bedeutet.

Read More

Is there business ethics in Clubhouse?

What can AI ethics learn from business ethics? What’s the ethics of Clubhouse, if any? Is the Robinhood app undermining free will? And how can tech companies create an ethical business culture? Listen to my thoughts in this interview.

Read More

Ansatz

Meine Kunden entscheiden sich für mich, weil ich Ethik greifbar und verständlich mache. Sie schätzen meine Fähigkeit, komplexe Sachverhalte auf den Punkt zu bringen sowie mein Commitment, in jedem Fall auf ihre ganz spezifischen Bedürfnisse einzugehen.

Ich biete keine standardisierten Lösungen, sondern erarbeite das, was für Sie und Ihre Stakeholder richtig ist und Wert schafft.

unabhängig

Als 1-Personen-Unternehmen verfügt Baur Consulting über transparente Strukturen und Verknüpfungen.

kompetent

Analytische Schärfe, wissenschaftlich geschult, und konzeptionelle Stärke ergänze ich mit meiner kommunikativen Kompetenz. So lege ich die Inhalte meiner Arbeit verständlich und überzeugend dar.

persönlich

Ich erledige Ihre Aufträge eigenhändig, mit viel Herzblut und pflege den direkten Austausch.

Themen

Wertestrategie für Akteure in der Finanzindustrie. Beratung von Investoren und anderen Akteuren der Finanzindustrie zu nachhaltigen Investments.

Beratung von Unternehmen bei der Integration von Ethik im Design, der Förderung und beim Einsatz von neuen Technologien.

Beratung von Unternehmen, damit CSR und Nachhaltigkeit zu glaubwürdigen Bestandteilen ihres Geschäftsmodells werden.

Über mich

Dr. Dorothea Baur

Dorothea Baur ist Consultant, internationale Expertin, Speaker und Dozentin mit langjähriger Erfahrung und exzellenter Qualifikation. Sie legt den Finger auf wunde Punkte, identifiziert blinde Flecken und zeigt auf, wie Ethik glaubwürdig und effektiv ins Geschäft integriert werden kann. Sie besticht durch Authentizität und den Mut, sich auf Kontroversen einzulassen. Sie bringt Sachen auf den Punkt. Dorothea Baur hat einen fundierten akademischen Hintergrund mit einem Doktortitel der Universität St. Gallen sowie Forschungs- und Lehrerfahrung anführenden europäischen Business Schools.